Meet our team

ECO-UNESCO is governed by a voluntary Board of Directors called the National Council.

The National Council is made up of representatives or members of ECO-UNESCO.

ECO-UNESCO Patron

Michael D. Higgins

The President of Ireland, Michael D. Higgins, is the Patron of ECO-UNESCO. We are delighted to have the support of President Higgins as we continue with our environmental education and youth work.

Board of Directors

The following individuals serve as Members of the National Council (Directors) on a voluntary basis:

Niall Jennings (Chairperson)

Vivienne Kelly (Treasurer)

Danny Dockery 

Mary Gallagher-Cooke

Chris Nolan

Rhona O’Donnell

National Director

Elaine Nevin​

Elaine Nevin is the National Director (Chief Executive Officer) of ECO-UNESCO since 2002. Elaine holds a BA in Geography and Political Science and an MA and a Higher Diploma in Education. She has worked in the field of environmental education since 1995 and believes that empowering, educating and engaging young people is an essential component to achieving sustainable development. Read more here

Meet our staff

ECO-UNESCO is run by a team of 15+ people. This is a mix of full-time and part-time staff, TUS workers, Jobbridge and Work Placement Programme employees and interns.



Julie Jones

Head of Fundraising

                                                         ✉ julie.jones@ecounesco.ie
                                                                    ✆ 085-8709561

Youth Programmes

Doireann Dunbar

Eco-Choices Programme Coordinator

✉ doireann.dunbar@ecounesco.ie
                           ✆ 086-0488859

Dunchadh Kinane

Environmental Youth Coordinator (Clubs and ECO-Choices)

✉ dunchadh.kinane@ecounesco.ie
✆ 083-3016554
 

Alex Konieczka

Green Steps and Climate Justice Programme Coordinator

✉ alex.konieczka@ecounesco.ie

Richard Hennery

Youth Action for Nature and Well-Being Programme Coordinator

✉ richard.hennery@ecounesco.ie
✆ 086-0128529

Aishling Miller

Youth for Sustainable Development Programme Coordinator

✉ aishling.miller@ecounesco.ie
✆ 085-1783473

Ciara Muldoon

Education & Training Coordinator

 
✉ ciara.muldoon@ecounesco.ie
                               ✆ 086-1591946


Róisín Fitzgerald

Young Environmentalist Awards Coordinator

✉ roisin.fitzgerald@ecounesco.ie
                               ✆ 086-7043400


Ellen Gearon

Environmental Youth Officer

                  ✉ ellen.gearon@ecounesco.ie

Sarah Austin

e-Learning Officer

✉ sarah.austin@ecounesco.ie

Hugo Dorat

Young Environmentalist Awards Assistant

✉ youth.assistant@ecounesco.ie

Kayleigh Harris

ECO-Choices Youth Worker

✉ ecochoices.assistant@ecounesco.ie

Kieran Allen

Project Officer

✉ kieran.allen@ecounesco.ie

Finance



Vince Harney

Finance and Accountancy

                                                                                            ✉ vince.harney@ecounesco.ie

                                                                                                         ✆ 086-1711991

Office Management

Anita Nwalo

Office Administrator

✉ anita.nwalo@ecounesco.ie
                                                     ✆ 086-0414802
 

Alex Marinelli

Admin Assistant

✉ reception@ecounesco.ie