Meet our team

ECO-UNESCO is governed by a voluntary Board of Directors called the National Council.

The National Council is made up of representatives or members of ECO-UNESCO.


Michael D. Higgins

The President of Ireland, Michael D. Higgins, is the Patron of ECO-UNESCO. We are delighted to have the support of President Higgins as we continue with our environmental education and youth work.

Board of Directors

The following individuals serve as Members of the National Council (Directors) on a voluntary basis:

Niall Jennings (Chairperson)

Vivienne Kelly (Treasurer)

Mary Gallagher-Cooke

Rhona O’Donnell

National Director

Elaine Nevin​

Elaine Nevin is the National Director (Chief Executive Officer) of ECO-UNESCO since 2002. Elaine holds a BA in Geography and Political Science and an MA and a Higher Diploma in Education. She has worked in the field of environmental education since 1995 and believes that empowering, educating and engaging young people is an essential component to achieving sustainable development. Read more here

Meet our staff

ECO-UNESCO is run by a team of 12+ people. This is a mix of full-time and part-time staff, TUS workers, Jobbridge and Work Placement Programme employees and interns.

Sarah McElroy

Operations & Development Manager
✆ 086-0414798

Julie Jones

Head of Fundraising
✆ 086-1383366

Youth Programmes

Doireann Dunbar

Eco-Choices Programme Coordinator

                      ✆ 086-0488859

Kayleigh Harris

ECO Choices Officer


Alex Konieczka

Green Steps and Climate Justice Programme Coordinator


Katie Ryan

Workshops Coordinator


Sadhbh Horan

Workshops Officer


Ciara Muldoon

Education & Training Coordinator

                               ✆ 086-1591946

Kate Stuart



Cathy Mulhall

Young Environmentalist Awards Officer


Aine Keating

Youth For Sustainable Development Coordinator


Sarah Page

Young Environmentalist Awards Coordinator


Josh Kovarsky

Youth for Sustainable Development Officer


Office Management

Gary Donegan

Office Manager